Going Beyond the Surface: Analytical Application of Laser Induced Breakdown Spectroscopy

Skip to Navigation

Webinar

  • Date: May 21, 2014 - 15:00 - 16:00 (local time)
  • Presenter: Forrest Weesner & Steve BuckleyTSI
  • Categories: Atomic / X-ray Spectrometry
thumbnail image: Going Beyond the Surface: Analytical Application of Laser Induced Breakdown Spectroscopy

Going Beyond the Surface:
Analytical Application of Laser Induced Breakdown Spectroscopy


Wednesday, May 21, 2014 – 15:00 UTC
08:00 PDT  |  11:00 EDT  |  16:00 UK  |  17:00 CEST
Check the time in your country

Register now >>>

Laser Induced Breakdown Spectroscopy (LIBS) has many unique attributes that simplify elemental analysis of materials. A chief advantage is eliminating time-consuming and destructive sample preparation steps required in most other bulk analysis methods. By keeping the specimen intact, LIBS offers the ability to study elemental concentrations of specific domains of heterogeneous samples by controlling the laser focus and power. Using examples from industrial metals, consumer goods, and geologic specimens, we demonstrate qualitative and quantitative techniques that take advantage of the flexible laser control to understand the elemental composition of materials on both the macro and micro-scales, spanning from light elements to transition metals.

In this free 40 minute webinar, we will cover:

  • Fundamentals of LIBS Instrumentation and sampling
  • Using libraries for qualitative use
  • Analyzing surface layers and coatings
  • Using LIBS to cover wide atomic mass ranges

There will be a 15 minute Q&A session where our experts in speciation analysis will answer your questions and application queries.

Who should attend?

  • Analysts using ICP and XRF instrumentation
  • Analytical service laboratory managers
  • Manufacturers of metals, electronics, consumer goods
  • Researchers in geochemistry

Your Presenters

Forrest Weesner

Forrest Weesner

Senior Global Marketing Manager
Chemical Analysis Group
TSI Incorporated

Forrest Weesner: Biography

Forrest Weesner, Ph.D, is Marketing Manager for the Chemlogix Product line at TSI, Inc. Forrest has over 20 years' experience in market and product development of spectroscopy instrumentation, spanning from x-ray through the infrared. His primary interests are centered on developing enabling technologies for industrial problem-solving, and currently is focused on LIBS applications and technology. A native Midwesterner, he holds degrees from University of Wisconsin-Madison, and is based in TSI’s headquarters in Shoreview, Minnesota.

Steve Buckley

Steve Buckley

Director of Market Development
Chemical Analysis Group
TSI Incorporated

Steve Buckley: Biography

Dr Steve Buckley is a Director of Market Development for spectroscopy products at TSI, Incorporated. He was a co-founder of Photon Machines, manufacturer of laser-based analytical equipment, and joined TSI upon TSI’s acquisition of Photon Machines’ LIBS business in 2012. Prior to Photon Machines, Dr. Buckley was a tenured engineering professor at U.C. San Diego. He has worked on development of LIBS technology for 15 years.

Register now >>>



Social Links

Share This Links

Bookmark and Share

Microsites

Suppliers Selection
Societies Selection

Banner Ad

Click here to see
all job opportunities

Most Viewed

Copyright Information

Interested in separation science? Visit our sister site separationsNOW.com

Copyright © 2017 John Wiley & Sons, Inc. All Rights Reserved