Yukihiro Ozaki receives 2014 Bomem-Michelson Award at Pittcon 2014

Skip to Navigation


  • Published: Mar 13, 2014
  • Author: Enter a presenter
  • Source: Pittcon
  • Channels: Infrared Spectroscopy / Raman
thumbnail image: Yukihiro Ozaki receives 2014 Bomem-Michelson Award at Pittcon 2014

Chicago, IL. March 4, 2014.

Prof. Ozaki receives the Bomem-Michelson Award from Dr Henry Buijs of Bomem at Pittcon 2014 in Chicago.

Yukihiro Ozaki received the 2014 Bomem-Michelson Award at Pittcon 2014 in Chicago. Professor Ozaki obtained his Ph.D. (1978) in chemistry from Osaka University and is currently a professor in the Department of Chemistry, Kwansei Gakuin University, Sanda, Japan. He has been active in research involving a wide variety of molecular spectroscopies, including IR, Raman, NIR and far-ultraviolet (FUV) spectroscopy. For the last four decades he has broadened the field of molecular spectroscopy in terms of both basic science and applications. Among his contributions, he expanded and developed areas of molecular spectroscopy such as NIR and FUV spectroscopy. His contributions to NIR spectroscopy include the development of NIR spectrometers, experimental techniques, and spectral analysis methods, experimental and quantum chemical calculation of overtones and applications from basic molecular science to applied spectroscopy. His work in FUV spectroscopy includes development of new spectrometers, studies of liquid water and aqueous solutions, studies of electronic transitions and structure of organic molecules in the liquid state, time-resolved spectroscopy and applications to liquids and solids.

History and Nomination Process for 2015

This award is dedicated to the memory of Professor A. A. Michelson, developer of the Michelson interferometer. ABB sponsors the award to honor scientists who have advanced the technique(s) of vibrational, molecular, Raman, or electronic spectroscopy. Contributions may be theoretical, experimental, or both. The recipient must be actively working and at least 37 years of age. To ensure that the award is based on an independent evaluation of the candidate’s achievements, the selection is made by a committee chosen by the Coblentz Society. The Award is presented each year at the Pittsburgh Conference on Analytical Chemistry and Applied Spectroscopy, and consists of a crystal symbol of the Bomem–Michelson award and an honorarium. The ABB sponsored Bomem-Michelson Award Symposium is held in honor of the awardee and immediately follows the presentation.

Nominations for the 2015 ABB sponsored Bomem-Michelson Award should include a resume of the candidates’ career as well as the special research achievements that make the candidate an eligible nominee for the ABB sponsored Bomem–Michelson Award. The nominating letter and supporting letters should be sent to the chair of the Bomem-Michelson selection committee. Nominations are accepted between 1 February and 1 May. Files on nominees will be kept active for three years, after which the candidate must either be renominated with an updated file or the file will be closed.

Please send nomination packages to nominations@coblentz.org.

Previous recipients of the Bomem-Michelson Award are listed below

2013   Brooks Pate
2012   Joel Harris
2011   Isao Noda
2010   Richard Van Duyne
2009   Martin Quack
2008   Geraldine Richmond
2007   David F. Bocian
2006   Robert W. Field
2005   Paul Bohn
2004   Dave Haaland
2003   Peter Griffiths
2002   Dan Nevmark
2001   Larry Nafie
2000   John F. Rabolt
1999   Sandy Asher
1998   Bruce Chase
1997   William H. Woodruff
1996   Ira W. Levin
1995   Terry A. Miller
1994   Herbert L. Strauss
1993   Jack L. Koenig
1992   Jyrki Kauppinen
1991   Alan Pine
1990   William Klemperer
1989   Richard Saykally
1988   W. Carl Linberger
1987   Thomas G. Spiro

Social Links

Share This Links

Bookmark and Share


Suppliers Selection
Societies Selection

Banner Ad

Click here to see
all job opportunities

Copyright Information

Interested in separation science? Visit our sister site separationsNOW.com

Copyright © 2018 John Wiley & Sons, Inc. All Rights Reserved